Trev’s @ Dickson

It has been some time since a restaurant review was written for this blog. The main reason is how busy it has been and also the current fires, which are affecting a large area of Australia and the people and animals living here, have created a situation where the air quality is the worst in the world. Little incentive to eat out.

However, Harper persuaded me to try Trev’s as the reviews were very good and the magic words ‘Eggs Benedict’ were uttered. (Not that there is any form of obsession about this breakfast.)

IMG_5022

Harper

We’d attempted to go out for breakfast a few times but each time it wasn’t possible.

Trev’s has some great reviews and it makes a change to eat breakfast as neither of us eat breakfast very often.

We arrived and were quickly seated by a very pleasant staff member who quickly brought water and menus. There were a lot of good options and it was hard to choose between the omelettes or Trev’s Brekky:

(Bacon, scrambled eggs, spinach, mushroom, tomato-kasundi, Italian pork sausage, crusty loaf toast slice. $19.90.)

Trev’s Brekky won, but only just.

We both ordered espresso for the end of the meal.

When my brekky arrived it looked good. Everything was there, the spinach, mushrooms, sausage. (I’m only saying that because sometimes it seems something is missing with so many things on the plate.)

I ate some eggs, gave bacon to Jamie, and then tried the mushrooms. I don’t know what Trev did to the mushrooms, but they were the best I’ve ever had. The same with the spinach. The eggs were great and the tomato kasundi added a nice bit of spice. I recommend the sausages.

It was a great breakfast! I ate everything and wished I had room to order another and eat it.

When it arrived, the shot of espresso reminded me of the ones I had in Italy. Strong and hot with the slight edge of bitterness that I enjoy in an express.

I’ll be back.

Score: 5/5

Jamie

Okay. Okay. I ordered the Eggs Benedict

(EGGS BENEDICT $17.00 Italian toast, real hollandaise and your choice of ham, spinach or smoked salmon)

with the bacon.

When it arrived I was very happy. So happy I forgot to take a photograph. (Sorry.)

I tasted the hollandaise. Lovely. A little bacon: cooked the way I like it. The egg, poached correctly with both yolks runny. Harper kindly gave me extra bacon and even let me taste the mushroom and spinach of his meal which were amazing.

The staff were efficient, friendly and informative. Great service, great food, good atmosphere. The toast was well done and not un-toasted in the middle (but that is another story which may be told one day).

This is possibly the best Eggs Benedict I have eaten. I did manage to take a photo of the very clean plate after I finished.

IMG_5021

As for the coffee, I have a tendency to drink espresso very fast. This one had a lovely kick to it and was the perfect finish to the meal.

IMG_5023

Score: 4.9/5 (because I don’t like giving full marks.) Okay: 5/5

Overall

Harper wants to return and so do I. I want to try the breakfast again (just to make sure) and then lunch and dinner. The staff are friendly and the seats are comfortable (and the restaurant the seats have backs!)

Overall Score: 5/5

Trevs @Dickson Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.