Four Breakfasts: The Mill House Cafe, Queanbeyan

The Millhouse is a café in Queanbeyan, close to Riverside Plaza and it will be the last in the four breakfast’s series as Lindsay wishes to have a break from breaking our fast.

Jamie

It was near Christmas and parking was already becoming difficult but we arrived early enough to secure a parking spot not too far from the Millhouse Café.  I had wished to visit this café for some time as I was hoping there would be another place in Queanbeyan that would be a pleasant experience.

We arrived and were warmly welcomed and invited to choose where we sat.  We chose a four seater table in one of the front rooms, with a window open.  Considering how it is on a corner, it was still very quiet.  This time I was not sentenced to pancakes and was free to choose the Farmer’s Breakfast ($14.50).  I liked the look of the description on the menu and liked it even more when it arrived at the table.  The sprinkle of fresh parsley over the eggs made it even more appealing.12431428_10153815246088839_156885774_n

Without further conversation I began on the mushrooms.  They were well cooked, perfectly seasoned and very difficult to put to one side while sampling the rest of the breakfast.

Then I cut into the hash brown.  It was the best hash brown I’ve had.  Many are floppy, cool in the centre or even not thoroughly cooked.  This was crispy, crunchy, hot, properly cooked and it vanished far too quickly.  Despite Lindsay’s comments on the appearance and the crunch of the hash brown as I bit into it, I did not share.

12442991_10153815246028839_2051523910_n

The eggs were well seasoned, not too flaccid, not too set and the parsley gave it a freshness that caused the eggs to be eaten with pleasure.  The bacon was the perfect accompaniment to the eggs and the tomato was nice.  The toast was toast but improved by the addition of the bacon and eggs.  I did not eat the sausage, as I do not eat sausages but the verdict from Lindsay and Alexi was that it was nice.  I only managed to have a small sample of the tomato as the large serve meant my fullness level was achieved before I managed to clean the plate.

The staff were friendly, happy, and polite and made us feel we were not an imposition or problem.  It was also pleasant to have a choice of eating inside or outside and the different rooms offered different seating configurations.

I tried to clean my plate but unfortunately, could not.

Score: 4.5/5

Lindsay

I’d like to mention how much I enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff of this place. It was very relaxed, friendly and a fantastic place to get a cup of tea.

12459644_10153815246358839_2073464063_n

I ordered the Bacon and Egg Roll ($7.50) and Peppermint Tea ($3.50).  The peppermint tea was served in a teapot and I felt this was a good deal for $3.50.  The Bacon and Egg roll had a generous amount of bacon on it, the egg was well cooked and there was a good amount of tomato sauce.  For $7.50 it is a good deal for an egg and bacon roll, regardless of where you go.  I’ve had better, I’ve had worse.  The thing that let it down was I did not believe the roll was the best fit for an egg and bacon roll.  It felt like it was a misplaced hamburger roll.

12399434_10153815246143839_2040780388_n

I did not clean the plate.

Score: 4/5 (The atmosphere and staff seriously make this place good.)

 

Alexi

My order was for a Flat White ($3.50) and was acceptable.  For food I ordered the Blueberry Pancakes with a side of bacon ($12.00 plus $2.00 for the bacon).

12434189_10153815244828839_932099663_n

I was so happy they gave a generous jug of maple syrup, huge stack of pancakes, lots of crispy bacon, several fresh, juicy strawberries and two big scoops of ice cream.  Pancakes, pancakes.  Very, very good pancakes.  The blueberries were so good.  Unfortunately there were not enough pancakes for the amount of maple syrup I was given, but I tried valiantly to finish the syrup that was provided.  I would definitely eat this breakfast again, many times.

12431428_10153815246448839_2144132911_n

The staff are incredibly lovely, the atmosphere is nice and as it is converted out of a cottage the dining room is spilt up into smaller rooms giving privacy.

Aside from the maple syrup, I cleaned my plate.

Score: 5/5

 

Overall

This would be our recommendation for breakfast in Queanbeyan, at present.  The coffee and tea are good for the price, there is little pretension and the menu is varied and interesting. The garden is in the shade (which is good considering how hot it can be in summer).

Overall Score: 4.5/5

The Mill House cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.